Loosening My Grip on Bobby Orr

The road trip has begun! I’m coming to you live from beautiful Parry Sound, Ontario, where I’m in the midst of drafting the most awesome fantasy baseball team of all-time (more on that in a second). Parry Sound, in case you didn’t know, is home to Robert Gordon Orr. I figured this was common knowledge–but just in case it wasn’t, the reminders are literally everywhere. For instance, a nearby town is actually called “Orrtown.” The Bobby Orr Hall of Fame is down the street from my hotel. I don’t know if Bobby Orr put Parry Sound on the map, but off-hand I can’t think of a Canadian town which celebrates a local hero in quite the same way.

As soon as I’m done drafting I’ve got to get down to work. For the time being this entails putting packages together for the week’s presentations; it’s mindless work, but it’s also excruciatingly boring and surprisingly time-consuming (preparing for a day’s worth of presentations can actually take hours). Thankfully, and for reasons unknown, I’ve got an unusually light schedule: this week, for instance, I’m speaking to fewer than 900 students, which means a lot less evening work for me to do. It’ll allow me time to work on those five books I brought with me, as well as to watch Season 1 of The O.C. (which, if you’ll recall, is on my list of things to do when I’m twenty-six). If the weather cooperates I’ll also have plenty of time to run. (By the way, if my partner Aimee is reading this there’s at least a 50% chance her head just exploded.)

It’s also worth mentioning that I’m driving an absolute tank: a Dodge Durango which guzzles gas at an astounding rate (at one point, for instance, I watched the gas meter drop as I was sitting at a red light). Also, since I won’t be able to drink Starbucks for the next two weeks, I allowed myself two cinnamon dolce lattes (total cost: $10.16) en route. My notion of “roughing it” apparently now entails “not having access to gourmet coffee for two weeks.” I think I actually hate myself.

As for this draft…well, Carlos Beltran fell to me with the ninth overall pick, I took Carl Crawford and his steals in the second round, and currently boast Dice-K, Verlander, Cain, Ervin Santana, Frankie Rodriguez and Billy Wagner as my pitchers. So far, so good; tomorrow night, when I’m back in Kirkland Lake (yay!), I’ll post my final line-up for the start of the 2007 season. I can’t wait for the week to start: I know it’s not a vacation per se, but with only six presentations to do and a lot of free time on my hands, it’s gonna be fun.

3 thoughts on “Loosening My Grip on Bobby Orr

  1. Was the Ervin Santana pick a purely sentimental one, given the last time we saw him start, he was 5 pitches and out? 🙂 And the nickname Dice-K…ugh, so lame. Anyway, take care out there, and we’ll see you in a couple weeks.

  2. Nah, the Santana pick was legit–he’s a third-year starter, which is key, and he’s also got more career wins than any other third-year pitcher in the bigs. As for Dice-K, don’t think for a second I didn’t want to vomit after making that pick–I just succumed to temptation, and the rest took care of itself. But yeah, totally agree: lame nickname. That’s actually how you pronounce his name though, so I guess that makes it more legit…

  3. Dude. Harbucks? You are kidding me, right? Free your mind, try something different. You’ll find something out there that makes the S to tha B taste like burnt drivel.** I am not even a coffee purist either.

Leave a Reply

