On the Road Again

Firstly, if you haven’t yet seen the details for tomorrow night’s Western Country gig, please: scroll down.

Secondly, in a week-and-a-half I’m heading back out on the road with the MS Read-A-Thon. Nothing is ever certain with this job; in January, for instance, I was literally minutes away from being switched to a Southern Ontario schedule before fate intervened and I ended up in Thunder Bay. This time, I was originally supposed to do a week in Toronto, then fly up to Northwestern Ontario. That was the plan until last week, when necessity (i.e., we couldn’t find a French-speaking presenter) got me moved to Ottawa, a schedule heavy on French schools (four) but loaded with potential NHL games (four as well). But then a French presenter magically appeared–and so now, I’ve been moved to the north schedule. The driving is going to be intense: all told I’ll be covering approximately 2,661km in just over a week-and-a-half, which averages out to 241km a day (and which doesn’t take into account the four consecutive nights I’ll be in Timmins). Oddly enough I’ve never driven the entire Northern Route despite having lived in Thunder Bay for twenty-one years; thanks to the MS Read-A-Thon, I’ll have covered virtually the entire thing (and in some places covered it several times over) in two-and-a-half months.

So: for now, I’ve got two weeks of virtual solitude ahead of me. Apart from doing a lot of driving, I plan on bringing a pile of books with me and then working my way through them; if the weather cooperates, I’m going to try to do some outdoor activities as well. But mostly, I’m looking forward to getting back in front of the kids again. I just saw the returns from the schools I spoke at in January, and they were generally astounding. It’s an amazing thing to watch the fruits of your labour literally blossom in front of you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some hotels to book–and you’ve got some scrolling down to do!

Leave a Reply

