The Da Vinci Code

I tend to be wary of hype, which explains why I didn’t read Dan Brown’s colossally popular novel The Da Vinci Code until last week. I guess I just got to the point where curiosity got the better of me, and after reading two histories of modern England it seemed like it would make for a nice, light follow-up. My verdict: it was good. I just don’t think it was all that earth-shattering. Brown’s notoriously clumsy prose is actually worse upon further investigation; the plot, while undeniably gripping, is horribly contrived, while the coincidences which push it forward are often hard to take seriously. Meanwhile, Brown’s attempt at revising two thousand years of human history is cute–but again, it would take a giant leap of faith to really take him seriously. Don’t get me wrong: I’m glad I read The Da Vinci Code. To quote the annoying kids in the M.S. Read-A-Thon video, “It was a good read.” I just didn’t think it was all it was cracked up to be. It’s not something I regret having read; that said, it’s also something I don’t think I’ll remember reading in a year’s time.

Up next: The Education of a Coach, David Halberstam’s biography of New England Patriots resident guru Bill Belichick. This reading thing is fun!

Leave a Reply

