The Waiting is Driving Me Mad

(As a reference, please see #3 and #23 on the list below.)

For those of you keeping track, I still haven’t heard back from any the law schools to which I’ve applied. I’ve convinced myself that this is a good thing. I haven’t been rejected anywhere; the hardest school I’ve applied to (Queen’s) still has me as a “decision pending” on its on-line database. So no news is good news, then–but that doesn’t mean I like being in a holding pattern.

The worst thing about the process is that there’s virtually no magic formula where law school applications are concerned. Even the few objective measures (such as GPA and LSAT scores) aren’t really that objective. For instance, is a 3.7 from Queen’s equivalent to a 3.7 from Lakehead? The schools insist that they are; the rational mind suggests that they aren’t (and I’ve had insiders from various schools tell me emphatically that they look at each school differently). The problem, of course, is that the lack of anything concrete to really sink your teeth into makes the waiting game even more excruciating. I’ve been doing a lot of digging lately, and I’ve discovered that I’m in really good shape where at least two of the schools are concerned. Or am I? Because this is the double cohort, again, and this fact means everything is out of whack. Is a 3.7 what it used to be? Does a graduate degree mean anything as far as the law schools are concerned? I don’t know the answer to these, or any other questions. I understand this; I’ve accepted this. But that doesn’t make the waiting any easier.

I guess it’s like with most things in life: you’d almost always rather “know” than be left hanging. Take dating, for instance: I’ve always maintained that it’s better to know that someone isn’t interested than to think that maybe they are. Sure, it’ll hurt a little bit more in the short run–but for the long haul you’re way better off just knowing. It’s the same with these applications: at this point, I really just want to find out how I did. (Which may or may not happen: law schools operate on a rolling admissions basis, which means I could find out anywhere between today and the end of August.) The irony is, I’m still not even sure if I want to go to law school. I think I do…but I don’t know. But what I do know is that I’d at least like the option of going to law school, largely so I can have a better idea of what I’ll be doing next year. Unfortunately, there’s absolutely nothing I can do except wait. And drive myself mad in the process.

One thought on “The Waiting is Driving Me Mad

  1. Dude I know EXACTLY what you are going through. Waiting drives me insane and in the long run, I’ve realized that usually getting bad news fast is much better for my mental well being than getting good news after a long long maybe/hopefully period. Anyways, my waiting is finally over and I hope yours comes to an end soon as well with only positive outcomes! Taker easy buddy. I’ll see you in hell.

Leave a Reply

