Hit Parade

The Hip played Oshawa’s quaint new General Motors Place tonight. Here’s the setlist:

  • Lonely End of the Rink
  • My Music at Work (Sherkin: “Does anyone actually like this song?”)
  • Grace, Too (which should be played every night)
  • Boots or Hearts (sorry, Talia…but hey, maybe if you didn’t live in Australia you could’ve heard it too!)
  • Family Band
  • Ahead by a Century
  • In View
  • Nautical Disaster (see notes for “Grace, Too”)
  • Bobcaygeon
  • World Container
  • Springtime in Vienna
  • At the Hundredth Meridian–>Walking on the Moon [The Police]–>? [Peter Frampton]
  • ‘It’s A Good Life If You Don’t Weaken’
  • The Kids Don’t Get It
  • Fireworks (duh)
  • Long Time Running
  • Yer Not the Ocean
  • New Orleans is Sinking
  • Fire in the Hole

Encore:

  • Hang On To Yourself [David Bowie]
  • Escape is at Hand for the Travellin’ Man
  • Blow at High Dough

A solid show, then, although it was too hits-heavy for my liking. Meanwhile, the crowd was markedly better than the last Hip audience I was part of…with the notable exception of the couple behind us who tapped me on the shoulder not once, but twice, requesting that I sit down. It’s ironic: I’ve left Tragically Hip concerts thinking “I’m actually lucky to be alive,” and yet here I was–completely sober, totally unobtrusive, and clearly just enjoying one of my favourite bands–being scolded for standing up. I felt justified in saying what I said after the final song: “Is it alright if I stand now?” But whatever: I’m sure I’ll be allowed to stand all through the night on Friday in Ottawa. Seventh-row tickets tend to have that effect.

2 thoughts on “Hit Parade

Leave a Reply

