Deaf, Dumb and Blind

I have no idea–no idea–how I’m supposed to write about what I just saw…so I won’t, at least not tonight. (Last night I managed to sleep for a grand total of four hours; I woke up at 3:30am and didn’t fall back asleep, so as you can imagine I’m pretty tired. Plus, now, I’m emotionally drained also.) But I will say this. Prior to tonight, I’d seen a grand total of two concerts which I’d left feeling physically shaken. Both of them were Pearl Jam concerts; both of them rank in the top five best concerts I’ve ever seen (Buffalo ’03 and Toronto ’06, night two, in case you’re wondering). But then tonight happened–and forty-five minutes later I’m still tingling from the experience. I’ve seen the Who five times, but tonight it was like I was seeing them for the first time–or at least through a pair of fresh eyes (which might be partially explained by Bri’s presence, the result of a last-minute change in plans). The show was virtually identical to the one I saw in London in September; in fact, the London concert was one song longer (“Real Good Looking Boy” was dropped tonight). But for whatever reason–the audience, the venue, cosmic alignment–the band took it to the next level tonight…and then they took it further, like only the real greats are capable of doing. Which is why I’m still tingling, and why tonight ranks as one of the greatest concert-going experiences of my life.

I’ll write more about it tomorrow, once I’ve had the chance to sleep off the fatigue. The sleep might get rid of the exhaustion; I can’t promise it’ll get rid of the tingling.

2 thoughts on “Deaf, Dumb and Blind

  1. Pingback: Stuff I’ve Seen at the Air Canada Centre | Stuff and Nonsense
  2. Pingback: Your Voices Will Be Heard | Stuff and Nonsense

Leave a Reply

