I’m Back in Town Tonight

I’m back: utterly exhausted from lack of sleep, probably still drunk from too many Red Bull and Vodkas…and completely exhilarated from what was, on the balance, one of the most memorable weekends of my life. The highlight, of course, was Rahul and Sangeeta’s wedding, but the trip was also notable for mine, Jeff and Jamie’s two-night preamble in Pittsburgh and Cleveland, replete with two ballgames and a trip to the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame.

Like I said: I’m exhausted: I went to bed at 4am, woke up at 10am and then drove from Youngstown to Toronto, so I’m not in a good blogging frame of mind. This, then, will be a blog entry in instalments; I’ll aim to get most of it done by tomorrow night, then go about setting up a Flickr account so you can see the pictures. Those of you who missed the wedding will be happy to know that my pictures are, for the most part, crap; the good news is that everybody else brought their cameras as well, so there are literally hundreds of pictures floating around from yesterday. Eventually, we’ll get a compilation together. But for now, here’s the most important picture from the weekend:

Once again, congratulations Rahul and Sangeeta! As if the wedding itself wasn’t enough, Kevin Rodrigues announced that he and his girlfriend Anne are engaged. (They’ve actually been engaged since May, but Kevin didn’t tell anyone for fear of upstaging Rahul; this is unquestionably the most gracious move a friend of mine has ever pulled off.) He made the announcement at 3 o’clock in the morning, right after I’d had a Texas mickey of Johnny Walker poured down my throat, so I wasn’t sure if I’d heard him properly or not. But I had, and Kevin and Anne are getting married within the next two years. I couldn’t have made this up if I tried–just like I couldn’t have made up mine, Jeff and Jamie’s drunken sprint through the deserted streets of Cleveland if I tried. To read about that, you’ll have to check back in tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

