Lord of the Rings

Just got back from Lord of the Rings, the show which is meant to save commercial theatre in Toronto. The verdict: it’s really, really good. Critical response was lukewarm at best; I’m here to report that the critics are, as usual, full of shit. I’m not a fan of Lord of the Rings in general; I haven’t got past the fourth page of J.R.R. Tolkein’s novel, and consider at least two of Peter Jackson’s movies to be utter crap (man, I can’t wait for the comments that statement generates). So I wasn’t exactly thrilled by the prospect of sitting through a four-hour stage adapation. In actuality, not being a fan of the show’s source material probably worked to my advantage: instead of sitting there analyzing what was different, I simply sat there watching it unfold. The staging is out-of-this-world; seriously, it’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen. The cast, meanwhile, is excellent. Brent Carver, whose Gandalf has been much-maligned, is actually really good, but the real star is Michel Terriault, who inhabits Gollum so completely he eventually takes over the entire show.

J-What–easily the biggest Lord of the Rings fan I know–is seeing the show tomorrow. Jeff? Consider this to be your official call-out to write a 5,000-word exegesis on Lord of the Rings, the stage production, with a particular focus on how it differs from other versions of the story. We both know it’s coming…now you know I’m waiting for it.

2 thoughts on “Lord of the Rings

  1. Its not at all surprising that a guy who hates pink floyd would think 2/3 of lord of the rings is crap.I’m willing to admit the utter geekiness of loving the rings trilogy (mind u it was read to me aloud as a child) and also to the pompousity of ‘the floyd’that being said i’m glad you enjoyed the show.ps. when r u getting me pearljam tix? i pay u top dollar, assuming u get me the goods.cheers

  2. Of course it’s not surprising: both of them suck. 😉As for the PJ tickets, Sherkin and I decided that these would be the shows where we sat together, so we used our fan club allotment on one another. We’ve seen PJ together thirteen times and haven’t sat together a SINGLE TIME, so we thought this would be as good a time as any. 😉 That said, tickets for both shows are still available on Ticketmaster; I think you and Stef need to make another road trip.

Leave a Reply

