Bless This Mess

A new blog template necessitates change–which means Show Me Your Riffs is officially under construction for the time being. I made a mini resolution last year to learn more about blogging; I figure this can be a first, tentative step towards that end.

So, once again, I’ve added links to the sidebar. If you’ve got a blog, chances are I’ve linked to it already; if I haven’t and you’re feeling slighted, please drop me a line and I’ll make amends as soon as possible. For now, I’ve included first and last names; if you’d prefer that I don’t use your last name in order to preserve your anonymity, just let me know. That said, if I’m linking to your blog (or to your website), then you’d better be prepared to keep it updated. If this sounds like a thinly-veiled attempt at getting Jeff Whatley to write his thoughts on the 2005 Toronto Blue Jays…well, it is. Because the new season starts on Thursday, and at least two of us are dying to read what Jeff thought about last season.

I’m also starting to add links for other, friend-related sites–specifically music-related, but I’m open to pretty much anything. Again, if there’s something that should be up there…let me know.

Of course, all this is secondary to the major news coming out of Toronto today: The Phantom of the Opera is returning to the Canon Theatre next February! Naturally, I’ve been on a high all day today; I’m also slightly worried, since the return of Phantom is basically an invitation for me to plunge even further into debt. I was at the Pantages Theatre the last time Phantom played in Toronto, on October 31, 1999; you can be rest assured I’ll be there (and hopefully be in the exact same seats) when it comes back. In other news, I’ve got an extremely doped-up girlfriend asleep in my bed, the result of a grueling hour-and-a-half’s worth of dental work earlier today; I figure I’ll take this opportunity to get some British pounds for next week’s foray across the pond, but I’ll see if I can make it back later to post a few thoughts on the weekend that was–and specifically regarding Wide Mouth Mason, who I saw on Saturday for the first time in over three years, and the Canadian International Auto Show, which began as a bad idea and turned into something of a cultural experience…well, insofar as staking out the biggest redneck in the GTA can be considered a cultural experience. Is anybody else picking up the revolting stench of elitism? Me neither. Oh, and I’ve still got to write about the Olympics–particularly for the benefit of Angela St. Jules, who I’m sure is at her wit’s end dealing with the Swede in light of his country’s gold medal triumph. All this and more soon…promise!

3 thoughts on “Bless This Mess

  1. You have no idea what life is like living with a Swedish hockey fanatic after this big win! Added to that still, a couple of Swedish friends who know nothing about hockey but are loving the fact that “Sweden is now the number 1 hockey nation”…and Canada is not!Steve – your comments soon please 😉

Leave a Reply

