All Hands on the Bad One

So…meaningful content. I’m trying, really I am; it’s just that, when your life is equally divided between working at the Hockey Hall of Fame and following the Toronto Maple Leafs, thinking about things unrelated to hockey is often a difficult proposition.

It’s not like I’m trying to be monomaniacal: it’s just that, when your job revolves around hockey, you’re living in the self-proclaimed “centre of the hockey universe” and you’re a sports fan to begin with, the game has the effect of taking on a life of its own. I’m not necessarily complaining…I mean, I’m constantly approached by people telling me they’d do my job for free, which indicates (I think) that it’s an extremely desirable position. And while I’m not disputing this fact–getting paid to talk about the Stanley Cup definitely has its advantages–I’m struggling mightily not to turn completely one-dimensional during my tenure at the Hockey Hall of Fame. On that note, I’ve decided that this is going to be the year where I really expand my musical horizons. I’ve been constantly nudging my musical boundaries for years; last year, however, I took a serious step back with the Pearl Jam tour, which essentially reduced me to a one-band man (and, indeed, continues to have a lingering effect…today, for instance, I spent an hour listening to live mp3s and reminiscing about the whole ordeal). I’ve got a lot of friends with impressive music collections; since a lot of them read this blog, I’m going to openly implore them to send me their musical suggestions whenever the mood strikes. If you’re reading this and thinking to yourself, “Hey, I’ve got pretty good taste in music!” then by all means–let me know what I should be listening to, at least according to you.

In the meantime, I’ve been purchasing a bunch of random CDs: All Hands on the Bad One by Sleater-Kinney, Different Class by Pulp, Come On, Feel the Illinoise by Surjan Stevens (the latter in honour of Lukas Neville’s hernia) and Live at Polson Prison by Johnny Cash (a purchase inspired, clearly, by Walk the Line, which I finally agreed to see after fighting it for twelve weeks and which was undeniably one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long, long time). Still, it’s difficult to fight the urge to slip back into the tried and true. I’m clearly a person who finds something he likes and then sticks with it (see: The Phantom of the Opera, among many other examples). But I’m trying to broaden my horizons. I know college is really the time for experimentation (and yes, I watched Road Trip on TBS the other night), but I figure that as long as I’ve still got the college mentality then nothing should stop me from absorbing as many different influences as possible. To my readers: you’ve officially been called out to help me along.

8 thoughts on “All Hands on the Bad One

  1. That music collection landed you Beth Lanigan, YJP…so it can’t be all that bad, can it? btw, seeing the two of you singing those acapella songs together was one of the most scarring incidents of my life thus far; please, don’t ever leave one another. 😉TJS

  2. as long as you visit my blog all the time and download whatever mp3s i’m pointing you at, you’ll be okay. you’ll never know what you’ll find!

  3. Drive By Truckers – The Dirty SouthKings of Leon – Youth & Young Manhoodthe Johnny Cash would have been another selection but you have already been enlightened so this is good.

  4. Thanks for the suggestions, everyone. And since we’re talking…— Gulley: you’re right, that album is actually really good. I didn’t realize I could like Genesis til I lived with you.— Ty: don’t worry, I’m at your blog at least every day. That stuff you gave me is good, btw; Wolf Parade is brilliant.— Gav: which KoL album is that?

Leave a Reply

