"Show Me Your Riffs"

Well, “Real Good Looking Boy” lasted less than twenty-four hours; Jeff Gulley’s subtle reminder that I’m actually pretty ugly (“real funny looking boy”) was all it took for me to change my mind again. Bri had a bunch of suggestions for possible blog titles, raging from the sublime (“It’s Hard to be a Saint in the City”) to the ridiculous (which were apparently so ridiculous I can’t remember what they were). In the end, however, I decided to go with “Show Me Your Riffs,” in reference to a Sleater-Kinney shirt that Eddie Vedder was wearing on stage with Pearl Jam last year. Naturally, I felt moved to order one for myself, and gave it its debut at last week’s Linehaul concert. I think I’ll keep it for the time being; it’s been my MSN name now for weeks, so I figure the only logical extension is the blogsphere…y’know?

Or maybe you don’t. I’m sorry for the lack of interesting blog activity in the past few weeks; I’d have written about having strep throat but, well, you probably wouldn’t want to read about it. At some point, I’m going to write about the Toronto Maple Leafs–partly to satiate Adam, partly to put my own feelings about my hockey team out there, partly to respond to Bri and Kevin’s respectful anti-Leafs rhetoric. (Oh, and Kevin: losing to the Sens six times this year doesn’t sting nearly as much as the four straight playoff losses. Hey, remember 2000/01? The Sens swept the Leafs in the regular season…and then got swept by the Leafs in the playoffs. Warrants mentioning…and don’t worry, I’m going to belabour this point in the near future.) In the meantime, however, all I can do is dangle a new look and a new title in front of you, and hope it distracts you from the current lack of meaningful content. How long can I keep up this charade? I’m guessing a day or so. Check back soon for something real!

One thought on “"Show Me Your Riffs"

Leave a Reply

