Life as a Park Ranger?

I haven’t updated Touring Steve 2005, my blog documenting my eleven days following Pearl Jam last September, in some time–not surprising, really, when you consider that the last of my seven shows was on September 19. But that isn’t stopping the spam from the blogsphere to keep on infiltrating it. Today, amidst a bout of nostalgia, I paid the site a visit…and found the following comment after my “Retrospecticus” entry:

“I read over your blog, and i found it inquisitive, you may find My Blog interesting. My blog is just about my day to day life, as a park ranger. So please Click Here To Read My Blog

Your day-to-day life as a park ranger? Really? I can read about this on your blog? Naturally, this piqued my curiosity, and so I headed over…and according to the sidebar, “Not much about me, just I am a park ranger for a local park, I love my job, but I love juicy fruit even more!” He’s a park ranger who loves Juicy Fruit? Fantastic! What I want to know is, how did this guy end up sending out blog spam? Who decided, “We need to infiltrate thousands of websites with drivel…I know, let’s send them to Juicy Fruiter’s blog!” (That’s his blog name, by the way–I didn’t just make that up.) Was it him? If so, then bravo; as Conor O’Reilly might say, “Props, bro–go Bears!” Needless to say, when I create Touring Steve 2006–which, judging from whispers emanating from the Pearl Jam Message Pit, might be sooner rather than later–I’ll be sure to figure out of a way of shutting off the spam.

Of course, if I do that, then I won’t get to read sentences like this: “Today was one of those days I live for, the one of the reasons I became a park ranger.” If you’re curious, I suggest you head on over and see what Juicy Fruiter has to say.

One thought on “Life as a Park Ranger?

  1. i *think* you can shut off the spam by using some sort of word verification thinger. like, if we want to comment, we have to type the secret password into blogger. you know, like a word of the day. {fred penner had a word of the day. don’t ask me why i remember this}. and yes, ‘thinger’ is a word. almost like ‘truthiness’, only better. ~christie

Leave a Reply

