Superman’s Dead, Indeed

I spent part of this evening’s Our Lady Peace concert at Massey Hall working out an elaborate analogy…but since I’m completely drained for reasons I don’t pretend to understand (I’d spent the entire day on the couch watching United/Chelsea and Minnesota/Detroit) I’ll have to get to it later this week. Essentially, the concert was exactly what I was expecting it to be: a good, solid rock show. The band didn’t embarass itself; the new material wasn’t as bad as I feared it would be; Raine Maida is utterly humourless to the point of distraction; I heard a few obscure-ish songs from older albums (including a shocking “Waited”, which I hadn’t heard live since the day Happiness…Is Not a Fish That You Can Catch was released!); and Massey Hall is an awful venue for a rock concert. Plus, the price for all of this was right. Jamie and I got to the venue at 5 o’clock–we’re assuming some people were camped out overnight for prime seats–and got restricted view tickets up in the rafters; right before the band took the stage an usher handed us a pair in row Q on the floor, and we quickly effected a major upgrade. Oh, and the show was filmed for a future “live release”–although the band was vague as to what this meant.

So we’ll see. In the meantime, Our Lady Peace didn’t sell me a copy of Healthy in Paranoid Times this evening, but the fact I was able to listen to the new material without wanting to gouge my ears out was an encouraging sign. I’ll keep working on that analogy; in the meantime, this kid needs his beauty sleep.

(On an unrelated note, I just won my first-ever Proline…I love gold!)

One thought on “Superman’s Dead, Indeed

Leave a Reply

