One Year Later

Lost amidst the furor of the Pearl Jam tour, the debacle involving my major research paper, my withdrawal from teacher’s college and the apparent dawning of a “new” phase in my life was a significant milestone as far as this blog is concerned: on September 13, 2005, “Here Comes Your 19th Nervous Breakdown” celebrated its one year anniversary. When I started writing this blog, I wasn’t sure if anybody in the entire world was interested in reading my weird, idiosyncratic ramblings on sports, music and life in general; now that I know that at least ten of you are, I want to say thank you for giving me reason to keep on writing. I originally viewed this blog as an excuse for me to hone some of my writing skills, in particular my annoying tendency to over-edit, excessively analyze and otherwise pare down what I write. The fact that it’s keeping one or two of you mildly entertained is an unexpected bonus, and in many respects my efforts at keeping people coming back for more are beginning to supplant the original motives for keeping a blog. I wouldn’t have predicted this happening–so again, thank you very much. I’ll do my best to keep you coming back in the coming year, as well.

And now that the mild bout of self-indulgence has passed, I’ll be firing off some new entries in the coming days–and yes, Adam, it will include my Blue Jays year in review. In the meantime, my weary legs that spent two hours standing next to Lord Stanley today need a rest…and with a great, big bed beckoning less than two feet away, it seems as though I’m fighting a losing battle.

2 thoughts on “One Year Later

  1. Steve – I love reading your blog because it makes me feel like I’m back at home, sitting in the living room with you, listening to you rant on and on about, most often, useless things.Oh, the nostaligia!But seriously, it helps me feel closer to home and friends – which/who I miss very much.🙂

Leave a Reply

