Two Items of Business

Two items of business, neither of which has anything to do with the other:

  1. I don’t know the proper term for this phenomenon, so I’ll explain it instead. Have you ever thought you’d seen someone you knew–at the mall, for instance, or waiting for a flight–discovered it wasn’t them, then seen the actual person later that same day? It’s usually someone you hadn’t seen in a long time. Make sense? So tonight, on my way home from meeting Margaret for a drink at Scallywag’s, I thought I heard a song on the Edge; I hadn’t, but then two minutes later it came on. I mention this because the song was none other than “C30 C60 C90 Go” by Bow Wow Wow; yes, this is a mighty ode to the cassette tape, and no, I hadn’t heard it in years. If you’ve never heard it, give it a download. I was going to make a point about how strange it is for bands to write songs about recording mediums–then remembered “Spin the Black Circle” and moved on.
  2. Does anybody know how “Mony Mony” came to include its “hey motherfucker get laid get fucked?” sing-a-long? Anybody? Because not even Google could give me an answer.

I think I need more sleep…

Leave a Reply

