The Surreal Life Continues

I’ve probably seen Bedouin Soundclash live more than any other band in the world with the possible exceptions of Pearl Jam and the Tragically Hip. I’ve seen them in battle of the bands, I’ve hung out with them in Clark Hall Pub after a gig with Staggard Crossing (for which Bedouin headlined, by the way), I’ve set up and torn down their shows…I mean, if you were a Queen’s student c.2000 it was virtually impossible to escape their presence on or around campus. But being a successful Queen’s band is one thing; being the Next Big Thing, however, is something completely different altogether. On the Edge’s Thursday 30, for instance, Bedouin Soundclash’s current single “When the Night Feels My Song” is at #13, one spot below the U2 song “Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own”. The band is currently playing the main stage on the Vans Warped Tour. Now, HLP Paul tells me they’re getting radio play in England — and moreover, they’re also getting random shoutouts in the Daily Mirror.

Bedouin Soundclash is playing Reading AND Leeds??! If you’d have told me this when they were still a four-piece and finishing runners-up in the QEA’s Battle of the Bands competition, I’d had given you a very strange look indeed.

Leave a Reply

