Rockin’ in 2005 v1.0

In the spirit of my weekly iTunes Top 5 (which I’ve now decided to convert into a once-monthly top ten list, instead), I’ve thrown together a hypothetical mix CD for the first half of 2005. This isn’t necessarily a compendium of the songs I’ve listened to most often this year, although you’ll find a good number of them on here; instead, it’s a collection of the songs that have figured prominently in the six months of the year up to now. (I’m pretty sure I should have included something from a musical but…well…I didn’t.) Also, as tempting as it was to put “Vertigo” as the first and last song, I’m not going to fall into that very, very obvious trap. I’ll leave that to Paul Hatcher.

  1. Faith No More, “Epic”
  2. The White Stripes, “Blue Orchid”
  3. The Rolling Stones, “Gimme Shelter”
  4. The Animals, “House of the Rising Sun”
  5. Nine Inch Nails, “Something I Can Never Have”
  6. A Perfect Circle, “Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums”
  7. Queens of the Stone Age, “Feel Good Hit of the Summer”
  8. Sleater-Kinney, “Entertain”
  9. Oasis, “Live Forever”
  10. Alice in Chains, “Nutshell”
  11. System of a Down, “Lost in Hollywood”
  12. Coldplay, “Amsterdam”
  13. The Kaiser Chiefs, “I Predict a Riot”
  14. Martha Reeves & the Vandellas, “Dancing in the Street”
  15. Weezer, “Tired of Sex”
  16. The Who, “Naked Eye”
  17. Pearl Jam, “I’ve Got a Feeling”
  18. U2, “40”

Y’know what? I think I owe it to myself to burn this collection onto disc–I could see myself totally digging it for the second half of 2005, as well.

3 thoughts on “Rockin’ in 2005 v1.0

Leave a Reply

