"If Your Not A Manc Your A Wank"

So this is what it’s come to: me, home alone, watching Euro Trip, guiding Manchester United to European glory in Football Manager 2005, reading a Chuck Klosterman article about a lesbian Led Zeppelin cover band…yup, just another night spent working on my 2000 paper. Earlier today I put in two solid hours at the Metro Reference Library, only to discover that they don’t loan their books out. I mean seriously, what kind of library doesn’t loan its books out? Doesn’t that undermine its very existence? I had this, like, huge stack of books in front of me about the Grateful Dead and psychedelic rock (including one by Billy Corgan’s favourite all-time person Jim DeRogatis) and early rock n’ roll…and unless someone cleaned up after me, it should still be there waiting for me tomorrow. A library that won’t loan out its books…shouldn’t this be advertised?

On an unrelated note, can somebody explain to me how John Gibbons fills out his line-up card? The evidence suggests various combinations of JD and dice, but I have no proof; I can only assume a baseball team whose linup hasn’t stayed the same all season long for more than two consecutive games is being overseen by an absolute raving lunatic…which Gibbons, he of three ejections on the year and counting, very clearly is.

And with that random (and frankly pointless) observation out of the way, I’m going to resume my aforementioned activities. Hey! Vinnie Jones has just popped up as a crazy Manchester United supporter…sort of like a Manc Tim Jebb, but with a lot more street cred (Jones, for instance, was once heavily fined by the FA for making a video on how to injure your opponents). What this has to do with Bill Graham and his influence on shaping youth culture in late 1960s America I don’t pretend to know…but what I do know is that being a grad student is a helluva lot more fun when you’re home alone and laughing hysterically at a movie character in a “KILL SOMETHING” t-shirt. God bless cable television.

Leave a Reply

