What’s Going On!

Not sure if I mentioned this or not, but a couple weeks ago me and (the newly triumphant) Irish Tim applied for–and were summarily denied–tickets to follow England at the 2006 World Cup of Soccer. While the downside to this rejection should be obvious, it also effectively “freed up” almost $2,000 on my credit card…and in light of Pearl Jam’s Canadian tour announcement, I’ve been putting that space to good use. Steve’s Dream Road Trip is now official: the “i”s are dotted, the “t”s are crossed, and from September 9-19, 2005 I will be embarking on an eleven-day venture in which I’ll see Pearl Jam seven times, U2 once, a couple Blue Jays games and more of the province of Ontario than should be legally allowed in a one-week stretch.

The itinerary:

  • Thurs., Sept. 8: Toronto-Thunder Bay
  • Fri., Sept. 9: Thunder Bay; PEARL JAM AT THE FORT WILLIAM GARDENS, BABY!!!
  • Sat., Sept. 10: Thunder Bay-Toronto
  • Sun., Sept. 11: Toronto-Kitchener-Toronto; Pearl Jam
  • Mon., Sept. 12: Toronto-London-Toronto; Pearl Jam
  • Tues., Sept. 13: Toronto-Hamilton-Toronto; Pearl Jam
  • Wed., Sept. 14: Toronto; Blue Jays/Red Sox
  • Thurs., Sept. 15: Toronto-Montreal; Pearl Jam
  • Fri., Sept. 16: Montreal-Ottawa; Pearl Jam
  • Sat., Sept. 17: Ottawa-Toronto; U2
  • Sun., Sept. 18: Toronto; Blue Jays/Yankees
  • Mon., Sept. 19: Toronto; Pearl Jam

Wow. I can’t even begin to fathom how incredible this is going to be. Some people fly to Europe after graduation. Some teach English. I follow Pearl Jam.

I’m also beginning to realize how the trip, while much more affordable than it normally would be (transportation, as mentioned earlier, is already covered, I’ve got places to stay in the cities where I’ll be crashing overnight and I’m usually too nervous to eat before seeing Pearl Jam anyway), still won’t be cheap. As such, this week the Job Hunt begins in earnest. Where I’ll apply I have no idea, but I figure Queen Street East is a good place to start looking. At this point, I’ll take whathever I can find–so long as I find employers who are understanding enough to give me a week-and-a-half off in September to follow a rock band around the Eastern Time Zone.

Leave a Reply

