Oh the Guilt

I hate post-assignment guilt. Hate, hate, hate, hate post-assignment guilt. Hate it. It’s something I’ve been dealing with for six years now and I still can’t figure it out. You’d think my natural inclination would be to feel exhilirated–and yet here I am, two days after handing in a thirty-page essay that nearly killed me to write, and I’m utterly incapable of shaking the notion that there’s something else I should be doing, most likely involving Daniel Goldhagen or somebody like him. Is anybody else plagued by post-assignment guilt? Is this simply irrefutable proof that I’m the biggest geek in the world? Or was Phantom of the Opera #18 evidence enough? I don’t have a clue where I’m going with this.

On a totally unrealated note, is there a more depressing song than “Nutshell” by Alice in Chains? Just throwing it out there.

And finally, the Toronto Blue Jays are sporting a very respectable 14-12 record…but when I’m in attendance they’re still 0-5. Can someone explain this?? At some point this has to end…right? Consider this: in 2005 Roy Halladay and Gustavo Chacin are both 4-1, and both losses occurred, logically, in games at which I was present. What I need are some guidelines that dictate when I’m allowed to attend baseball games; I’m perfectly willing to sacrifice my own happiness if it means the Jays are able to make any kind of charge this year. Justin, Adam? Your input, please.

Leave a Reply

