FYI

Just got back from SkyDome–sorry, Rogers Centre–where I was privy to yet another Blue Jays loss, this one a stupid 4-3 decision to the New York Yankees that we probably should have wrapped up in about the third inning. The Jays have lost the last nine times I’ve seen them play. Nine times! In fact, since 2003, the Blue Jays are a stunning 2-12 when I’ve been in attendance. Two more consecutive losses and Adam is forcing me to cancel my season pass…and on the basis of this evidence, I can’t say I blame him.

Anyway–file these under “Stats that Nobody Except Me Will Care About”:

  • # of Major League Baseball games I’ve attended: 45
  • # which have involved either the Jays, the Yankees or the Minnesota Twins: 44
  • # which have involved only the Jays, Yankees or Twins: 15
  • # which have involved the Jays: 35
  • Jays record in those 35 games: 15-20
  • Jays overall record at Rogers Centre: 2-3
  • Jays record at Rogers Centre when I’m in attendance: 0-3
  • Jays record at Rogers Centre when I’m not: 2-0
  • Player who hit the first home run I ever saw: Gary Gaetti
  • Player who hit the most recent: Jorge Posada
  • Of those two players, one whose last name is easily turned into a cheer involving the words “Hip, Hip!”: Posada
  • Player who hit the first home run I ever saw at SkyDome: Kelly Gruber
  • First extra innings game I saw: 9/23/90, Jays vs Cleveland Indians
  • Last extra innings game I saw: 9/23/90, Jays vs Cleveland Indians
  • Total # of runs I’ve seen the Yankees score at SkyDome/Rogers Centre: 78
  • Total # of times I’ve seen the Yankees at SkyDome/Rogers Centre: 10
  • Avg. # of runs per game I’ve seen the Yankees score at SkyDome/Rogers Centre: 7.8
  • # of those that were on August 28, 2004: 18
  • # of those that were on August 28, 2004 that were scored in the 9th inning: 9
  • # of those that were scored on August 28, 2004, April 20, 2005, July 27, 2001 or July 28, 2001: 49
  • Avg. # in those four games: 12.25
  • # the Jays scored in those four games: 10
  • Avg. #: 2.5

Such is life as a Toronto Blue Jays fan.

See you tomorrow night versus the Orioles.

Leave a Reply

