Mamma Mia, How Could I Resist You?

Nothing makes you feel like a man’s man quite like seeing Mamma Mia…again. And, in my case, again one more time–this afternoon’s performance was the third time I’d seen a musical I vowed I’d never see again after that first infamous performance. But then Katie Harder talked me into seeing it last September, and I liked it a lot better than I did the first time…so when Bri announced she wanted to see it before it closed (the show ends a five-year Toronto run on May 22) and we found out we could get $26 tickets I was surprisingly quick to say “yes.” Upon further review, it wasn’t such a bad idea. No one will ever mistake Mamma Mia for great musical theatre; some would even argue it’s not musical theatre, at all. But the show is fun, uplifting and entertaining as hell, the music is catchy (and yes, for a third consecutive time, I can’t get “Mamma Mia” or “Money, Money, Money” out of my head) and the cast–with a sensational Blythe Wilson as Donna–is utterly superb. So no, it isn’t a great show, and yes, being in a theatre surrounded by 1,500 hootin’ and hollerin’ baby boomers is about as emasculating as wandering the streets in a tutu…but at this point, I’m willing to admit that I’ve sat through Mamma Mia on three separate occasions, actually enjoyed at least two of the performances, purchased the original cast recording (and memorized about half of it)…and lived to tell about it all at the end of the day. I feel as though some glaringly obvious ABBA reference is in order here…like, “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!” More Mamma Mia, or, “I’m glad I took a chance on you!” But I won’t. I’ll just leave it with a short, sweet “I liked it. A lot.” That’s the name of the game.

Leave a Reply

