It’s Hard To Be A Saint In The City

Saw Sin City last night…and have nothing to say other than this: in my entire twenty-four-and-a-half years of seeing movies I have never seen anything that even comes close to rivalling Sin City in terms of sheer, unrelenting violence. I mean, I’m disensitized enough that I figured I was past the point of being affected by it anymore, but Sin City made me reconsider that perspective and then some. The violence is fast, furious, graphic, relentless and oddly transfixing; you’re literally unable to peel your eyes away from the screen, even while you’re constantly closing them in fear of what you’ll see next. I’ve never walked out of a movie in my life, and I still haven’t…but there were certainly times during Sin City–in particular when themes pertaining to child rape started creeping into it–that I at least gave walking out a passing thought. Or maybe I’m just not desensitive enough. But whatever.

Did I like it? I don’t know. Would I recommend it? Not to many people. Did the line “like a palsy victim trying to perform brain surgery with a lead pipe” redeem at least some of the gore? Probably. Am I rambling? Yes.

Leave a Reply

