I’m Still Alive

There have been a dearth of updates as of late, and for that I apologize. Life has kicked into overdrive this past week; besides the usual academic bullshit (a prospectus and a presentation to write, plus readings and a healthy dose of thesis procrastination), I was also visiting with four of my friends from Thunder Bay who were making a rare forray into civilization. It was a great week…and an exhausting one, and I’m on the verge of having to commit academic hari kari. Tonight, for instance, despite the fact it’s ten o’clock and I tend to shut down at around nine, I’m going to continue watching a five-hour documentary called The Fabulous Ruins of Detroit. Tomorrow, I get a stack of forty-one essays to mark; this weekend, I’ll be MIA writing a presentation on a book by Thomas Sugrue called The Origins of the Urban Crisis. If you happen to run into me Tuesday night, you’ll likely find me wandering aimlessly through the halls of our house and muttering incoherently about that racist bastard Albert Cobo…and if that sounds appealing, I’d invite you to drop in.

I don’t even know where I’m going with this…uh, so yeah: busy weekend ahead. But I did see Rent last week, I did score tickets to see the Jimmy Chamberlin Complex in April and I was privvy to maybe the worst waitressing job in history this afternoon…and all being well, in five days I’ll have enough time to write about it.

Leave a Reply

