Skol Vikings, One Last Time

I don’t have much to say about the Minnesota Vikings’ 27-14, season-ending loss to the Philadelphia Eagles. I’m doing quite well, thank you very much: I haven’t started drinking, I’m not trying to find a rusty razorblade, I’m not moping around the house dressed in black and singing Adore-era Smashing Pumpkins songs. I was more-or-less resigned to the Vikings’ fate before the game even started; despite putting on a brave face and confidently predicting a Viking win, at least a part of me knew this was result was in the pipeline.

I’ve got a lot of thoughts about the 2004 edition of the Minnesota Vikings, most of which revolve around the solid nucleus we’ve assembled, the obvious holes that need plugging and the optimism I already have for 2005…but in the meantime I’m going to enjoy this Patriots/Colts game, write my New Year’s Resolutions (late, I know, but I didn’t feel like writing them until my first semester was finished) and look forward to seeing Bri later this week. No matter how much I love this team, it really is just a game.

Leave a Reply

